Travellers' reviews about Albania

5
12 reviews
Vífill
5
Albania
Friends
We are group of six and the destination was fixed on Albania, internet fixed this trip there.
The best parts:
Food and drinks where excelent and whether and people was wery nice. Lot of history and nature sights.
The worst parts:
Long rides on rough roads.
Evaneos
Dear Vífill, Thank you for your feedback! We are more than happy that you enjoyed your trip to Albania and we are looking forward to see you again soon! Yours sincerely, Your Evaneos Team!
Suzi
5
Albania
Couple
We spent four days walking the Accursed Mountains in Albania and Kosovo. We were provided with a guide who himself had been born and bred in Albania. Not only was he able to guide us on the walks, but he had a thorough local knowledge of the flairs and fauna, as well as the cultural customs of the local people. Whilst the walks we did could be quite strenuous, the scenery and the shepherds huts we stayed in made it all worth while. The Albanian hospitality was second to none, and the food some of the best we have ever eaten. At the end of the holiday we felt a huge sense of achievement and it has certainly raised the bar for future trips. We cannot thank enough Ed and his team from *** - and in particular a big thanks to Nic our guide, Mephmut the horse handler and Dorri the horse (who carried our bags).
The best parts:
Our local agent were very quick to respond to my enquiry about doing a walking holiday in Albania I told them the type of walking we were looking for and they built a bespoke programme for us, tweaking it following feedback from us. By going via a local agent like ***, we felt like we were in the hands of an agency that has first hand knowledge of the country. They even went above and beyond expectations by providing helpful information about locations to take the second part of our holiday. It was also good to be picked up from the airport when we arrived.
The worst parts:
There were no worst parts.
Evaneos
Dear Suzi, Thank you very much for your feedback! We are more than happy that you enjoyed your trip to Albania and we are looking forward to see you again soon! Yours sincerely, Your Evaneos Team!
Arudi
5
Albania
Couple
Again, we cannot praise our guide enough. He assured that we could enjoy taylor-made activities that suited our preferences and abilities, even joining in on hikes and extensive kayak trips.
The best parts:
It would be next to impossible to imagine a better and more helpful guide-cum-driver than the one we had!
The worst parts:
In one of the hotels visited we were first offered a somewhat substandard room, but our guide made sure that it was immediately upgraded.
Balkan travellers
5
Albania
Couple
We did 5 countries in a 15 day road trip, so the program was well loaded. However we managed to see all we wanted to see. Starting in Tirana, we then drove up to Shkoder, crossed into Montenegro to Budva and Kotor. From there onwards to Bosnia where we visited Mostar and Sarajevo. We then moved back into Montenegro and Kosovo. From Peja we moved into Macedonia, saw Skopje and Ohrid and back into the southern part of Albania.
The best parts:
As this was a multiple country trip I was struggling to find a rental car that I could bring around. Going through Evaneos solved this problem. Furthermore we had generally well located hotels, not sure we could have found the right locations ourselves. The trip itself was stunning, hitting all the right spots, and required some active driving. All in all good fun.
The worst parts:
Generally all hotels were good or better than good, we had 2 hotels however that were a bit on the simple side, I would have paid a bit more for a slightly better hotel. Also in 2 or 3 of the hotels there were challenges with reservations and payments that needed sorting out.
Armela
Armela’s agency
Dear Wim, Thank you so much for this good review. We highly appreciate your comments and will keep them in mind to make our work better. We are happy you enjoyed your holidays and hopefully you visit us again. All the very best! Armela
Find out more about Armela’s local agency
179 reviews
Albania
5
Albania
Couple
We knew very little about Albania but have friends who lived and worked there for several years. After talking to them our interest was piqued about this country that was isolated from the rest of the world until recently. It did not concern us that the tourist infrastructure is in it's infancy because we found the hospitality and friendliness of the Albanians to override any small inconveniences. And there are some excellent hotels and restaurants that would rival those in more visited destinations.
The best parts:
My husband and I spent two weeks in Albania with' our local agency...Europe's Last Adventure'. Planning the trip was very easy as Ed, the owner, answered our emails and questions immediately and together with his knowledge and our special requests to visit/see certain places, Ed created an exciting itinerary. We credit Henri, our driver/guide (and who soon became our friend) with the success of our trip. His English is excellent, his knowledge of Albania and the sites we visited was extensive, he is an excellent and safe driver and he is very friendly and engaging person. If you want to explore a beautiful country, rich in culture and and wilderness experiences, go to Albania. It is not inundated with tourists. The people are hospitable and kind and the food is excellent. It is a gem!
The worst parts:
If you don't like cigarette smoke you might find Albania difficult. Cigarettes are cheap and it seems as though most males smoke. Although there are laws about smoking in restaurants, they are often not enforced. If you are afraid of heights and narrow, high roads you might be nervous as 80% of Albania is mountains. Obviously, neither of these issues have anything to do with 'Drive Albania'.....I can't identify any problems with our tour and the the staff.
Emmmc15
5
Albania
Solo
We had 8 days travelling from Durres to do the highlights of the south west ...Butrint, Himara , Berat, Gjirokastër to name but a few. The itinerary prepared for us suited our requirements to a tee .
The best parts:
Our trip to Albania was a dream. Our guide Gesi was the highlight. His knowledge of the country , it’s history and places was amazing . He is funny, engaging, so polite and caring and treated us like family .the itinerary was perfect. I wish we had had twice as long. Everywhere we stayed was a unique experience . I want to be back in albania !
The worst parts:
Nothing
Armela
Armela’s agency
Dear Mrs. Ellen, Thank you for taking your time to give your feedback on your travel with us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and had an amazing time in Albania. You are welcome anytime to visit us again and we would be pleased to have you here. I wish you all the best! Greetings from Tirana.
Find out more about Armela’s local agency
179 reviews
Evaneos
Such a fantastic review! Thanks so much for sharing it with us. :)
Gallonim
5
Albania
Couple
Old story. A young lady, whom we met in Mekedonia recommended wormly us to visit Albania (If and when it will be possible) . Now it is possible and we did it
The best parts:
Our trip to Albania was one of the best we ever had. The organization was excellent including Hotels, guide, car and selection of sites. We learned much about Albania History, enjoyed beautiful sights, hiked in emazing trails had good food and wonderful hosting in butic hotels. Also the timing (preseason) was very helpful We recommend our friends very strongly to make a visit to this wonderful country.
The worst parts:
Some sights are poor compered to similar sights in Israel (Apolonia) or other Roman time sights. We recommend to avoid this sights for Israelis.
Evaneos
Hi Gallonim, Wow, what lovely feedback! :) We are so happy to hear your trip experience! I hope we will have the pleasure of organising another trip for you in the future. Best wishes, Rachel
Seif
5
Albania
Solo
From Tirana I went to Kruje and Durres (musium not worth visiting in my opinion) then we headed to Berat then Gjirokaster. Afterwards I travelled on the coast through Butrint, Llogara and Vlora. On the way back to Tirana I visited Apollonia and Ardenica.
The best parts:
Every city I visited was amazing with great history, culture and views. I was a solo traveller and had an awesome guide who drove me through his beautiful country and answered every question and request I had. Gzim was very patient and quite willing to alter the itinerary. The food and accomadations were very good. A special mention to the kind and friendly stuff in Berat and the guest house in Butrint. I also had the opportunity to visit the Blue Eye Spring (Siri i kalter) and it was a marvelous place.
The worst parts:
I really can't think of a place or a moment i disliked. Maybe some more time shoud be spent on the beautiful beaches but then again, the guide managed to make me spend some time by the sea on our way back to Tirana.
Armela
Armela’s agency
Hello, Thank you for the feedback. I am more than glad to read this commentary and to see that you liked the trip in our country. It is very nice to hear that you appreciated the cities, nature, sites as well as Albanian gastronomy. I will let the hotel in Berat know that you mentioned their service. Have a nice day Best regards Fiona
Find out more about Armela’s local agency
179 reviews
Jwd2005
5
Albania
Friends
I found the company on Internet. I always organise personalised trips for us using a driver/guide. In discussions with the local agent, Fiona, and following her suggestions, I then finalised the schedule to suit us. We were most interested in the history & culture of Albania so the tour was based around this. Loved the funky hotels. Alban took us to some lovely local restaurants. The whole trip was a success.
The best parts:
Efficient service from the office in terms of responding to queries & designing the perfect personalised trip for us. Excellent choice & variety of hotels. The most important element of course was our guide, Alban. He was very knowledgeable without overdoing it. He had a great sense of humour & was very attentive to our needs. When we asked to change a schedule, he was most accommodating. Always polite and punctual, he was the perfect choice for us as well as being a good driver.
The worst parts:
Nothing!
Armela
Armela’s agency
Dear Mrs Demetriades, Thank you very much for your commentaries. I feel very glad while reading you feedback and see that you have appreciated our country and your stay in Albania. It is very nice that we could make you discover Albania in a pleasant way and that you could make the most out of your trip here. Alban thanks you too for your commentary on him. Have a good day Fiona
Find out more about Armela’s local agency
179 reviews
Elspeth
5
Albania
Friends
We were 2 couples in our 70s and not with unlimited mobility, but this tour of seven different towns with visits elsewhere in between, gave us a great introduction to the country. We saw so many places of interest - archeological sites and museums, old houses, bazaars, seaside resorts, mountains, and local Albanian historical sites. Having a kind and thoughtful guide/driver meant that we had no worries and he took away any potential stress. In my ignorance, I had expected everything to be less advanced than Greece where we live, but in fact it seems the reverse. This tour of southwestern Albania has given me the wish to explore more in this beautiful country.
The best parts:
The chance to see the wonderful countryside and beautiful coastline. Staying in the fascinating old houses of Berat and Gjorokaster and exploring the bazaar areas. Visiting the Ethnographic museum in Kruje was a particular highlight, as well as visiting an old mosque and the monastery in Ardenica. Meeting so many kind and interesting Albanian people who were so anxious to give us excellent attention whether in shops, hotels or restaurants. Our excellent guide Alban who made every minute of each day so easy and enjoyable and looked after us so well. Also, he was a really brilliant driver!
The worst parts:
The sewage problem making our room in Himara smell unbearably, though hopefully this was later cured! Personally, I would have preferred the chance to see round the archeological museums without the local professional guides who, though very knowledgeable, gave me no chance of seeing the exhibits which particularly interested me. Also, we stayed in a different place each night, which on reflection, made the tour more tiring for us. However it did mean our daily traveling was less, so it's hard to know which is better!
Armela
Armela’s agency
Dear Mrs Pratt, Thank you for the commentary. It is a pleasure to read that you have had a nice trip and that you enjoyed discovering the culture and history of Albania. Our country has a tradition linked to the warm welcoming for the guests. It is nice that you had the chance to experience it. On the other hand, I am sorry for the inconvenience with the hotel, but we must accept that tourism in Albania is still new and developing and even though our country is now opened to foreign visitors there is still room for improvement. Albania is still a hidden jewelry in Europe, ready to impress its visitors! Your guide, Alban and me would be pleased to have you in Albania once again! Kindest regards, Fiona
Find out more about Armela’s local agency
179 reviews
Neil A
5
Albania
Family
We loved the trip and Albania There were a lot of highlights but here are a few that really stand out Seeing our lunch at a trout farm netted fresh Having the Illyrian ruins of Byllis to ourselves Seeing my daughter drive a 4x4 up a dry river bed Sitting in the garden of my hotel in Berat, looking down on the old town, listening to the pigeons in the owners prized coop Having fresh baked Albanian 'doughnuts' and home made honey in a dirt track side 'cafe' Walking 800m up a deserted canyon, repeatedly crossing the river barefoot, to find a hot spring pool with noone else within sight or earshot
The best parts:
My daughter is leaving home for uni in september and I wanted a mini adventure for the 2 of us to experience and remember together. I certainly got it and it was near-perfect . Before leaving, the tour company were excellent - replying promptly to all our queries and giving informative, amusing and accurate details of the trip. The itinerary was interesting and the tour guide added huge value by adding stops along the way, by choosing interesting and memorable places to stop for lunch or coffee and by introducing us to local people. The hotels chosen were perfectly situated in the cities which, again, added a lot of value. The scenery in Albania is stunning and the off-road driving brought us into this scenery in a way that a road tour never could. The driving was also great fun. The places that we visited were stunning, particularly Berat, Byllis and Butrint and very quiet given how impressive they were
The worst parts:
There was no worst part but the weather could have been better!
JudithVH
5
Albania
Friends
I am writing an article 'Ten things you ned to know about Albania' for publication online. I'll send it to you when I've done it.
The best parts:
I cannot speak highly enough of the local agency in the persons of Fiona and Eduard, the latter of whom accompanied us throughout our trip. There were no problems. There was courtesy and consideration throughout, combined with care and knowledge. How can I pick one thing out as 'good' or 'best' when EVERYTHING was perfection.
The worst parts:
1. Get Albania to deal with litter that disfigures so many of the beautiful spots they wish to attract tourists to. Fine people as we had to do here in the UK until people got the message - which they did quite quickly! 2. Do NOT let the ministry of tourism cover the exquisite Riviera area with concrete. They are in the process of destroying a national treasure, unique in Europe -- it's as I remember the French Riviera in the 1950s and 60s, but they are in danger of rendering it hideous at the cost of upmarket tourism and fitting only fr th slower end of the market. KEET AT LEAST SOME OF THIS TREASURE intact. PLEASE pass this on to the ministry of tourism. NB. I am happy to go out with them and tell them exactly what I men and how to stop the present devastation and begin the restoration. I have nothing to say about Evaneos or Eco Tours. They need no improvement!
Armela
Armela’s agency
Dear Ms Judith, I thank you very much about your commentary. It has been a pleasure for both Eduard and me, to have had you in Albania. I also feel very happy that we could meet in person. As for the improvements that you have mentioned, I would like you to know that we think and believe the same as you. Our work in this field is also related to the love that we have for our country, to its nature and culture. With our passion we try to show to the rest of the world the real Albania and to change the sometimes negative image that accompanies this place. We will forward your commentaries to your guide, Eduard, as well as to the ministry of Tourism, so that they can see things how we do see them and not only as business. Looking forward to reading your article Fiona
Find out more about Armela’s local agency
179 reviews